Just To Help Me Dry Those Tears I’ve Cried

They built the Grafton Centre after I left Cambridge University.  It was on the other side of Cambridge from my College so I probably would not have visited it much anyway but it had a Forbidden Planet, so I would have made some trips.  At the end of my PE2 revision course (https://fivemilesout.home.blog/2020/10/16/to-reach-too-high/ ) I went there to buy something to reward myself and cheer myself up before the looming exams. 

I bought two volumes of the collected Omaha – a comic I had seen reviewed in fanzines.  It featured anthropomorphic animals, but with a lot of nudity and sex scenes.  It was in black and white and was a comic that was certainly not for children, but then Forbidden Planet’s customers, at least back then in Cambridge, did not appear to be children.  It is a good story – though the sex scenes seem more of a hangover from the underground comix of the early 70s than necessary to the story.

My other purchase was a best of Cat Stevens.  I had first heard of him at an assembly at Greneway school (https://wordpress.com/post/fivemilesout.home.blog/520 ) in the 70s when my form tutor, Mr McDaniel, played (Remember the days of the) Old Schoolyard in an assembly.  He briefly told us that Stevens had been a successful singer/songwriter (part of that early 70s boom that came out of folk music) but had given up recording after converting to Islam and changing his name to Yusuf Islam.  The assembly was about a new movement for the school called Elfsyoru.  (The full name was Doin gthing sfor elfsyoru – doing things for yourself).  He appointed Mrs Nickson, the deputy head as the high priestess of elfsyoru and a lot of school activities focused on it.  All I remember about it after that was Mrs Nickson’s tearful farewell speech as she was seriously ill with cancer.

I heard Matthew and Son on a 60s compilation and that is a great track, which led me to the compilation several years later.  It was not a disappointment in any way whatsoever and I have all of Stevens’ CDs.  The music is gentle but the lyrics are deep and affecting.  If you want somewhere to start try Tea for the Tillerman or Teaser and the Firecat.

Fast forward and Islam changed his views on his religion and music.  His comeback was in 2006 and I missed it.  His 2009 album, Roadsinger, is a beautiful album showing that none of his talent had been lost in the 30 years since his retirement.  My regret is thinking about how much great music this man would have made in those years but we have to appreciate the talent of the man and the beauty of his songwriting.

Rod Stewart’s cover of this is more famous, but the original is best.

The First Cut is the Deepest

Playlist:

  1. Matthew and Son
  2. I love My Dog
  3. The First Cut is the Deepest
  4.  Lady D’Arbanville
  5. Where Do the Children Play
  6. Wild World
  7. Hard Headed Woman
  8. Sad Lisa
  9. Father and Son
  10. Tea For the Tillerman
  11. Rubylove
  12. Moonshadow
  13. Peace Train
  14. (Remember the days of the) Old Schoolyard
  15. Roadsinger

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started